Toon Town

I am a geek. Most often I am also a nostalgic geek.

     This week I moved offices. I had to pack up all my stuff and move it 30 feet dog leg to the right. (I love my new office because it has a window, and that is all I will say on the matter.) As I moved, I found my stack of Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics, and I dusted off my limited edition #0734 of 1000, “Tooned Up”, Buffy Summers, “End of Days” statue. It was a gift from TF before he was even TBF. We were meant to be. I thought about what Electric Tiki may have come up with in the past three years, and just like that I was surfing the web – that’s when I found it.

I am the terror that flaps in the night, I am the batteries that are not included, I am the raspberry seed you can’t floss out, I am a special news bulletin that interrupts your favorite show, I am the low ratings that cancel your program, I am the ten dollar service charge on all returned checks, I am the smoke that smokes smoked oysters, I am Darkwing Duck!

"Let's Get Dangerous!"

     It took every ounce of adult power in me to not buy this little guy for $99.99, or the Rescue Rangers. I had to repeat the mantra “You are turning 28 on Sunday, you are a mature and responsible person, you are less than 15 years away from 40.” So I quickly exed out of the window and texted my brother Tim. “I am the terror who flaps in the night! I am the termite who devours your floorboards, I am the fingernail that scrapes the black board of your soul, I am the headache of the criminal mind!! I am ________ ______! … Name that hero” He instantly replied “Darkwing Duck…. Come on. Give me a challenge.” Point taken.

     To anyone who misses Saturday Mornings with the Disney Channel; Here’s to Launchpad McQuack and Mr. McD, here’s to The Rescue Rangers – mostly Gidgit, as they didn’t let their tiny stature stop them from most human tasks, here’s to Goofy and Donald Duck, may they ever be battling the clock that wouldn’t just take a bath quietly, here’s to Pluto and Mickey, Talespin and my huge crush on an animated bear named Kit Cloud Kicker, oh and “Fire at the Sea Duck!” Here’s to me, wishing I was 9 and stuffing my face with Captain Crunch cereal and whistling the tune to The Goof Troop.

Now, Suck Gas Evil Doers!

Leave a Reply

