My Achy Breaky Heart

This is one of my favorite book blog follow alongs to participate in. They usually have really provoking questions, and I’ve been racking my brains, and shedding a few tears coming up with this weeks list.

Question:  Top 10 books that broke my heart.
Answer: I am only going to include books that made me cry, which is a rarity.

1.My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult
We’re talking sobbing, gut wrenching slobbery, red-faced, snotty nose sobbing. Oh and I was on a plane, and the adorable little old lady beside me kept patting me on the arm and offering me a tissue. I’m not even exaggerating.

2. The Street Lawyer – John Grisham
I can’t explain why, or how it happened. It was in the first couple chapters and I just broke down. I saw humanity and all its evils, I decided I wanted to help the homeless, and I did for a while.

3. Beatrice & Virgil – Yan Martel
I just finished this book about a week ago. I’m going to do a post on it when I’ve finally calmed down. I was un-prepared for my reaction to “Games for Gustav”. It was unbearably sad, but this is the most beautiful book I have read in over a year.

4. A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irvine
I loved him, and he was so smart and funny and brave. I cried at the end.

5. A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
They say unrequited love is the most painful thing on earth. He loved best.

6. A Fine Ballance – Rohniton Mistry
This book was an ache that lasted a long time after I closed the back cover. How can mankind treat itself that way? How can goodness and simple happiness survive?

7. 1984 – George Orwell
You know when you’re so angry, and you’re trying to make a valid point, and explain your reasoning/view/why you’re right, and all you can do is feel your face grow redder, and hotter, and your vocal cords squeeze tight and you feel hot, angry, shameful tears leak out of your eyes? Ya. This book.

8. The Shack – William P. Young
I can’t even get into it.

9. The Subtle Knife – Phillip Pullman
*SPOILER*
I don’t think I have ever cried quite so hard at the death of a character ever, (except maybe in number 1.) than at the death of Hester. I still tear up, sniff, (no joke), when I think about it. Then I get mad. I’m not a weepy person!

10. The Crucible – Arthur Miller
Angry tears, sad tears, defeated tears, and hopeful triumphant tears. All in one play.
_____________________________________________________________

I almost forgot! The REAL number 1. The ULTIMATE book that caused me to cry, and feel loss even to today is…..

A book I have already talked about and will likely talk about again.

Fool’s Fate – Robin Hobb
The ultimate love story, the ultimate character development. You really have to read the whole 9 books to understand why this is as great as I say it is. Or trust me.
“Home is people. Not a place. If you go back there after the people are gone, then all you can see is what is not there any more.”

5 comments

  1. Two Bibliomaniacs

    I seriously want to comment on every title on your list. My Sister’s Keeper is a very worthy choice and I don’t know how I forgot about A Prayer for Owen Meaney . Poor, poor Owen!

    Also, I mistakenly coerced my wife into read A Fine Balance on our vacation a few years ago and it pretty much sucked all the fun out of her Beach experience (such a good book though)

    I still haven’t been able to review the Shack because of what happens.

    And finally, I’m heading over to Goodreads now to find out about Fool’s Fate… apparently I’ve got a 9 part series in my future!

    Oh, and I really want to Beatrice and Virgil… no idea it was super sad!

    • jfeldt

      I can’t say enough what a wonderful fantasy series they are! It’s in a three, three part series. First three are the real beginning The Farseer Trillogy, then The Liveship Traders, and lastly The Tawny Man.. Great world to peek into.
      I seriously just giggled thinking about how aweful it would be to read A Fine Ballance on a beach.. oh your poor wife!

  2. Rebecca

    My Sister’s Keeper KILLED ME! It’s so much better than that movie, but it seriously had me on the verge of a nervous breakdown. No lie.

    I’m writing down that series. I’m going to check it out.

Leave a Reply

