Far From The Hardy Usual

Last night I picked up Far From The Madding Crowd. I sighed as I trudged to my bedroom holding what I knew would be a sad, dark, broody Hardy novel. He can’t help it, he’s just a depressing kind of guy. I battled through Tess of Dubervilles with prozac and red wine just to stay sane. The day I finished that book I actually celebrated with champagne… I think I had developed a small dependence issue but I’m over it now.

As I climbed into bed I decided to delay the actual reading of the book by reading about it instead, on the back. Far From The Madding Crowd has possibly the best back summary ever! If the novel is anything like the back cover promises I may be alright. Today I leave you with these words of hope that promise to bouy me through the novel this Christmas season.

Far From The Madding Crowd is the book that made Tomas Hardy Famous, and is the sunniest and least brooding of his great novels. Bathsheba Everdene and the three men who love her move through a beautifully realized late nineteenth-century argarian landscape, still almost untouched by the industrial revolution and the encroachment of modern life. Hardy presents the hopes and disappointments of Bathsheba and the three men after her affections: one, a poor sheep farmer, another a respectable farm owner, and the third an army sergeant. Grounded in Victorian romanticism yet paving a path towards realistic literature, Far From The Madding Crowd rightly remains one of the most popular of Hardy’s Novels.

Now if that wasn’t enough to convince you, check out this killer first sentance:

          When Farmer Oak smiled, the corners of his mouth spread till they were within an unimportant distance of his ears, his eyes were reduced to chinks, and diverging wrinkles appeared round them, extending upon his countenance like the rays in a rudimentary sketch of the rising sun.

I’m looking forward to this one!

Moi

xoxo

 

3 comments

  1. hardtosayreally

    Oh man. I feel ya. I read Jude the Obscure last year. Jude the Downtrodden. Jude the Repeatedly Bitch-Slapped. Jude the Slump-Shouldered. Jude the Emasculated. My gratitude for living in the Modern Age was ten-folded after polishing that one off.

  2. Two Bibliomaniacs

    It’s quite sad that this novel is thought of as Hardy’s most optimistic work. He must have been super fun at parties!

    Sadly, the back cover is very accurate. I just finished this one last month and it is quite rosey by Hardy standards. “Tess” left me dipressed for a month. After “Jude” my smile has never been the same…

    Hope you don’t get too carried away by all the sunshiny goodness in this one.

  3. jfeldt

    haha!! It’s so true isn’t it. Well I’m really enjoying it so far, but is it because it’s good, or so far off from the usual?
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂
    jfeldt

Leave a Reply

