I’m Sorry, Bela Lugosi.

It’s Book 2 Movie Challenge time! And since I just finished Dracula, and it’s the winter months and suitably creepy, I watched Francis Ford Coppola’s “Bram Stokers Dracula“. It sucked. (ha!)

Okay, okay, it wasn’t bad it was…slutty? Like seriously a vampire party in everyone’s pants, only 90’s style. I just finished this great read about chaste and pure women who were strong and shining in the loveliness of innocence and then BAM! Super into all types of naughtiness.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a prude when it comes to movies with boobs in it… I watched both seasons of Spartacus thank you very much. It’s just, these characters were so not who they were supposed to be.

Well done Garry Oldman, cool perspective, Carey Ewles! Awesome!, and the dude who plays Quincy was pretty good himself. It was Lucy, and Mina that really pissed me off. (And I’m a Winona fan.) Ooo Tom Waits as Renfield! That was great.

Sigh, I feel like I should have watched the 1930’s one with Bela. I feel like I went to the prom with the jock and not my lab partner, only to find out the jock’s a total d-bag and I miss my lab partner.

Well, this is my sixth one. We’ll see how many more I can bang off. Oh ya, and I really didn’t remember THIS part of the book, I feel it would have stuck in my brain 😉

 

Gary Oldman and Sadi Frost

 

2 comments

  1. Two Bibliomaniacs

    Since Coppola’s version didn’t quite work for you maybe it’s time to try Dracula: Dead and Loving it. Or there’s always Billy the Kid vs. Dracula. I’ve seen neither, but for some reason I have a strong feeling they’d be true to Bram’s original vision….

  2. jfeldt

    Oh gosh, I absolutely adore Dracula Dead and Loving it. My favorite part is when they stake poor dead Lucy through the heart to make sure she’s dead. Mel brooks, as Van Helising, suripiticiously backs away from the body while a completely un-suspecting Steve Webber, who is playing Jonathan Harker, stakes her in the heart and gets COVERED in blood. He pulls through though, for an epic one take scene with a beauty of a prank behind it 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWzzX4lLPnU
    I need to watch the Bela Lugosi Dracula from the 30s I was just lazy cause I found the 92 one first and thus the sadness 🙂
    Jfeldt

Leave a Reply

