One Fish, Two Fish, Three Fish… Broccoli

Not My Photo... I Got It From: http://dexteryarbrough1.wordpress.com

I am going to start this bad boy off by saying this: I am in no way a photographer. I do not own a camera, I do not have an understanding of either composition or light, and I use instagram unabashedly. Therefore; while I enjoy cooking and posting recipes online I shy away from those yellowish cast, out of focus pictures.

In fact, true confessions moment here: usually I just Google what I’ve made and take a photo someone else lovingly created. Today however, as I made up this recipe, there is no physical evidence except the lovely warm feeling of fullness in my tummy.  You will have to use your imagination.

Once again I found myself wanting to make something and not having: a) the ingredients, b) the time, or c) the recipe. I winged it (wing it?) anyway.

Here’s the Dr. Seuss Fish Chowder

  • Filet of Steel head
  • Filet of Halibut
  • Filet of Ahi Tuna (please don’t sacrifice any Ahi on my account, go get a good salmon instead. I had to use the tuna or it was caputskis.)
  • 2 1/2 cups left over barley from yesterday (already cooked)
  • 3 cups water
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1 small head of broccoli, separated into small little bite sized trees.
  • 2 Tb butter
  • 1 small yellow onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tsp fresh chopped ginger
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can creamed corn
  • dash of this dash of that maybe a bay leaf or two
  1. Chop the fish into cubes, boil in the 3 cups water for about ten minutes. While that is happening fry the cubed carrot in the butter.
  2. Add the water from the fish to the carrot and butter, dump in the minced onion, minced garlic, and minced/chopped ginger. Let bubble for about five min.
  3. Throw everything back into the large pot with the fish sitting in it, add the milk, barley, creamed corn, spices, and anything else I forgot to mention. (Right! The broccoli.) Simmer for about an hour – or until you get back from working at the theatre hoping your house doesn’t burn down in the process, you love your dog after all… he’d better not eat that chowder!
     As I added the creamed corn after I snuck a bowl of chowder this isn’t exactly tested. The once or two hurried tastes I had on my way out the door spoke good things of midnight guilty pig outs though… oh and I’m totally making some baking powder biscuits when I get home.
Peace out hommies
Moi xoxo
Leave a Reply

