To Be Or Not To Be…evil

This weeks FF asks an interesting question, one I had to pause and think over for a whole night. I opened this new post up and was about to write down “Mrs. Coulter” as my answer when out of the blue the real answer hit me between the eyes.

Q. Have you ever wanted a villain to win at the end of a story?  If so, which one??

Well my top two are: Shylock and Lady Macbeth. I know right? First of all, I will always remember the awe in which I read every word that came from the great Lady. She was strong, smart, she knew what she wanted and she took it. If her husband hadn’t been such a bumbling moron she may have gotten all she wanted! And Shylock, I don’t know, I always thought he was sort of the underdog. He was a Jew in Italy for crying out loud. The Christians had it out for him in his mind, and he was just trying to get by… sort-of.

So that’s it. Now I’m thinking I should really read more Shakespeare this year, despite my earlier intentions of canning him till the end of this NYR list. Ah conundrums eh? You know by definition, conundrum implies there is a solution? Ya, I’m smart like that.

 

Moi xoxo

[Now I have to clean my whole house…out out damn spot!]

 


2 comments

Leave a Reply

