If you couldn’t, what would you?

I read fiction. I get lost in fiction, I dive, sink, soak up and in to fiction. What if I couldn’t? I suppose the obvious answer would be ‘Non-Fiction’… duh; but let’s break it down a little shall we?

This weeks blog hop asks: “Many of us primarily read one genre of books, with others sprinkled in. If authors stopped writing that genre, what genre would you start reading? Or would you give up reading completely if you couldn’t read that genre anymore?” So I thought about it and came up with Real Life Drama.

Oh I’m not talking about Big Brother or Survivor reality t.v. shows turned into books; ho ho ho no! I’m talking about Alive, Into Thin Air, or 127 Hours. I used to read The Reader’s Digest as a child when I would visit my grandparents house. My favorite parts were always the I Survived! Unfortunately I can’t remember exactly what the article was titled, but I do remember reading about ship wreaks, shark attacks, and a dude who fell into a construction site and had rebar poking straight through him. They all survived.

[Two rabbit trail/side notes:
1) On The Goodwife, during the last of Peter Florick’s campaign his publicity manager asked his mother “Why do senior citizen’s read Reader’s Digest?” She didn’t even bat an eye when she answered “Why it’s the large print.”
2) Three words – Cordelia “I fell”.]

Any way, basically I like when people tell me about their wicked survival stories. I loved Into Thin Air and I grimaced through Alive. Into the Great Solitude is another good true adventure type book, albeit a little quieter paced. So, this is how I would spend my days between the covers. This is actually how I should spend more now come to think of it.

Over and Out

Moi xoxo

3 comments

Leave a Reply

