Skip to the end

     I remember a time when I was young my mom went out to the movies. Her and a friend went to see Backdraft. I recall playing with wooden toys on the floor and looking up when she came in, as she was taking off her coat she told my dad something that since then she has often repeated.
     Ugh! That’s it, I’m NOT going to sleep until I can re-write the ending in my head. That was just too sad.

     It was done, I had been given full licence to re-write, edit, cut and past stories that were told to me, in a way that would make them perfect in my eyes. I had been given ultimate power. {Muah ha HA HAAA!}

     This weeks Follow Friday hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read asks me this omnipotent question, and I find myself stumped. I want to make a really good answer. I want to impress the socks off you and show you how I make stories better than their authors ever intended. Yet, I’ve realized something. I’m only making the story better for me, you probably have a totally different set up in your brain chemistry.

     So now I feel free and light and spry! And will answer with no fear! (Too many exclamation points, sorry.) Also, check out Lisa Loves Literature, she is this weeks featured follower. Her answer had me hating the Twilight series less, it was pretty ingenious 🙂 Now without further adieu :

Q. If you could change the ending of any book (or series), which book would you choose? Why and to what?

This is going to be a spoiler fest so try to write the title of the book as a dominant feature – and warn people about spoilers.

FOOL’S FATE: The Tawney Man Trilogy by Robin Hobb
     Okay so when I first grabbed The Assassin’s Apprentice I did so under false pretenses. It was a complete series and was only three books long. Yay. False. It is a four-part (three books to each part) fantasy epic. Great. In fact, when I was “finished” it was only a three-part, nine book epic. Now I find out today TODAY!!!! that is got three more books, two written, one on the way. So my answer might be fixed, I’ll find out next year.
     At the end (not really) of this series, which has been my favorite fantasy series hands down, I was crushed. A love that grew so beautifully through nine books was absolutely ill-treated. The Fool and Fitz were children together, discovered lovely and un-lovely things about each other while growing up, went through hell and heaven, and then at the end – parted ways forever. It was so painful, so unfulfilled, that I couldn’t forgive it.
     So instead of Fitz going to Molly, who was like wrung out and not in love with him any more AND had 7 kids! I would simply have Fitz and the Fool ride into the sunset. No I don’t have a detailed description of their lives, I don’t even want to specify if the Fool is male or female, I just want them to be together forever.
     So maybe they are! Now I’m going to edit my 2012 page and add The Rain Wild Chronicles to it. 

 Moi xoxo

6 comments

  1. Anja Kasap

    Love your response! I am not sure I’ve ever redone a book or movie ending in my mind – that would be an interesting exercise for me, I tend to accept things as they are. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier, I’m glad to have found yours!

  2. Two Bibliomaniacs

    Your intro impressed my socks right off! Unfortunately, I’m quite bumbed that I’ve never read your book choice and can’t comment on the extent of the improved ending.

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

