Pita! Pita!

[Warning, this post has little to do with Pitas, it’s mostly about chicken.]

     I’ve written about them before, and I’ll write about them again. Two “thems” in fact. I read a bunch of cool blogs, two of which are The Pioneer Woman, and The Inn at the Crossroads. I follow those blogs voraciously for one incredibly important reason – the food.

     I have been looking for a good flatbread recipe for a while so when The Inn came out with their post on Dornish food, I quickly copied the recipe into my ever handy journal. I’ll write about that later though as the first experiment was ok, and the second is in progress. 

     Last night I was surfing the internet for a chicken recipe that sounded fun and *pop* Pioneer woman just posted about one! I was ready. I don’t know if this happens to you, but it happens to me all the time. I read a recipe, I get inspired, I have none of the ingredients, I cook it anyway. So after I realized I did not have any peach preserves, BBQ sauce, Whiskey of any sort, white onion, or Worcestershire sauce, I did not fear! Lo because I had oil, butter, and most importantly – chicken.

     Read the Pioneer Woman’s recipe. It looks good, I’m sure it tastes good, but this is what I made last night.

“Stubborn” Chicken

  1. 3 Chicken thigh/drumstick big leg pieces
  2. 1/2 red onion
  3. Sherry
  4. Balsamic vinegar
  5. Soy sauce
  6. Garlic
  7. Butter
  8. Oil
  9. Cranberry Jalapeno Jelly
  10. Salt and Pepper

In my large cast iron saucepan I heated oil and melted butter and browned up my largish chicken pieces just like the P-Woman.

I chopped the red onion, and squished the garlic and after removing the chicken added it to the left over fat in the pan. ( I did not throw away half, I don’t care that my thighs are growing faster than the weeds in my garden.)

I added a couple glugs of sherry, a dash of soy, a glug of balsamic and a jar of my home-made Cranberry Jalepeno Jelly, and a cup of water.

I brought it all to a quiet boil and threw the chicken back in covered it with an oven proof lid and fired into a pre-heated oven at 350° and baked it for an hour and a half.

Voila! Just like hers, I’m sure of it.

 Moi xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

