Growing Up

     Follow Friday question:

Q. How has your reading habits changed since you were a teen? or If you are still a teen what new genres are you in love with currently?

 

     When I was a child I read anything my mother would let me, and some things she didn’t. I remember hiding my very first harlequin romance, (and pretty much my last), under my mattress every night until my aunt came to visit… she changed the sheets, I changed the hiding place. I used to stay up way late into the night; first with a flash light, then later, when my room was re-located to the one at the back of the house, I’d burn incense and read by my bedside lamp. I probably read more in terms of volume as a child then I do now. The uncomplicated life of youth was not wasted on my being young.

     I read Archie Comics, The Boxcar Children, The Babysitters Club, The Pony Club, everything by James Harriot, Rascal, Grimm’s Fairy Tales, The Hardy Boys, Beatrix Potter, Dick Francis, Caroline B. Coony, Tom Sawyer, The Hobbit, Huckleberry Fin, The Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter, The Left Behind Series, Francine Rivers, any many, many more. Way too many to count. Now, it’s pretty much the same. Oh I’ve tried to ‘grow up’ in my reading. I’ve started reading all the classic books everyone always talks about, always writes about.

     I would say the thing that has changed the most in my reading now than when I was a child is consciousness. Now I read with a purpose, even a sense of status. As a child I’d read what I wanted, when I wanted, and was never embarrassed by what I was or was not reading. Now I’m burning through all the classics I can think of so that will some how validate me as a lover of books. It’s not all bad, nothing that drives to you read and discover can be, but it’s less innocent, and less free. I used to just read for myself, and the world got in the way.

Moi xoxo

 

3 comments

  1. Heather Robbins

    Great blog and great answer! I however have read few classics … want to but not sure that I will my mind has to be in the right place for that.

    Heather
    SupaGurl Books via follow friday 🙂

  2. kathy

    Thanks for hopping by my blog! It’s so true that kids don’t really get embarrassed by what they read. That’s such a good thing. Sometimes I’m totally embarrassed to admit a liked/didn’t like a particular book.
    Anyway, happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

