What ONE Book Did it for You?

      Ah, a new ‘blog hop’ to join this week. I’d go over to http://www.crazy-for-books.com like usual but I had no idea what an ARC was so I had to google it. Then I was like “ooooh advanced reader copies riiight. Ya I don’t have any of those.” So I jumped on over to another book blog follower thingy I’ve seen floating around the netherwebs. Meet Parajunkee.

So this here blog follower was totally hands on. Like, I had to follow four different blogs! Sheesh, you’d think I had time on my hands for goodness sake. You’d think I had nothing better to do at 11pm on a Thursday night then to blog… except that’s exactly what I do at 11pm on a Thursday night, and these people – are my kind of people.

This weeks question is right up my alley. So far up my alley its like I’ve heard it before. Wait, I have heard it before. Don’t all us book nuts ask each other this question like it’s on the list of things we immediately need to know about a person to see if they pass the ‘it’ test? You know:
“What’s your favorite color, number, movie. How many kids do you have/want. Are you single? Will you go to dinner with me – but wait, WHAT’S THE ONE BOOK THAT CHANGED YOUR LIFE?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not mocking the question, or even poking fun, this is serious stuff. I have a whole post on it somewhere around here…. ah here it is; only it’s like twenty books. I do that a lot you know, cheat, take the liberty, whatever. So I figured this time, this ONE time I’d follow the rules. [I mean come on, I even really followed all four of those lovely ladies blogs.]

Q. Talk about the book that most changed or influenced your life (was it a book that turned you from an average to avid reader, did it help you deal with a particularly difficult situation, does it bring you comfort every time you read it?).

     My mom wrote a book. I love books, I got it from my mother. Being an avid reader I always toyed with the idea of writing; but it seems so huge that I never even thought it could be a possibility. My mom has four kids. She home schooled us for most of our learnin’ years. She helped run a kids camp, she has a barn full of horses, and very little time to herself. The year I moved home from England my mom had just brought her mom to come live with us. My grandmother has full-blown Parkinson’s disease and lets just say, this was a very trying time.

For some reason my mother decided this was the time to join nanowrimo. She plunked herself down in front of her laptop that November and poof. Out came a book. This book shows me that dreams come true. That hard work pays off. That you can do all things, through The One who gives you strength. I’ll tell you what, here’s the link to read up on and purchase the book if that’s your style. Or, I’ll give you one. Comment before Monday  morning telling me you want one, and I’ll throw you in a giveaway generator and send one out to one lucky person. Let it tell you that you can do what you set your mind to. It’s more than inspiring, it’s real and corporeal, it’s evidence to victory.

Well that’s all for tonight folks, I believe it’s almost midnight, which means hey! Follow Friday is on! See you all on the flip side.

Moi xoxo

7 comments

  1. Bonnie

    Thanks so much for taking the time to visit me at Hands and Home. What a beautiful story, I’m so glad you shared it! Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. jfeldt

    So the easiest thing to do was go to random.org and put you guys in 1-5 in order of appearance. Of course WP doesn’t support flash widgets and I can’t figure out how to put on on the page, so you’ll have to take my word for it! #3 Lari you get a copy!
    jfeldt

Leave a Reply

