The Wasp Factory

Source: bettybloodletter.blogspot.com

     Weird. Creepy. Compelling.
     I will compare The Wasp Factory to the Catcher in the Rye to make one point. Frank is crazy and very ‘inside his own head’ in much the same way Holden is. Frank is much easier to read, and I didn’t hate him as I had Holden because there were many sad and twisted reasons behind why Frank was the way he was. 
     I figured out the ‘big twist’ right at the beginning of the book, but it didn’t ruin it for me. This book is an onion, with disturbing layers that pull you in. It was a funny experience reading it actually, as there were parts that reminded me of many of the books I have already read this year. Watership Down  anyone? He blows up a rabbit warren for Pete’s sake!
     I never would have known about this book without the NYR, so I’m glad I read it. I may be done with Ian Banks for a while though. I feel like going for a run, or taking a shower, or some other symbolic act which will wash the voice of Frank out of my head. Kite Flying will never be the same again, and I hugged both my dogs and told them I loved them.
Moi xoxo

PS: You know how you go the beach and bring a ‘light read’ and relax? Ya, that wasn’t the same thing. Just so you know. It was a brilliant read though, don’t let me take away from that! Just….. creepy.


Two years after I killed Blyth I murdered my younger brother Paul, for quite different and more fundamental reasons than I’d disposed of Blyth, and then a year after that I did for my young cousin Esmerelda, more or less on a whim. That’s my score to date. Three.  I haven’t killed anybody for years, and don’t intend to ever again.
It was just a stage I was going through.



Leave a Reply

