Abandoned Books, Meme.

The Literary Stew blog has a great meme today. This subject is near and dear to my heart so I’ll post my answers here.

Enjoy! ~

1. What would cause you to stop reading a book ?It is a tie between a) getting really busy and the book not holding my attention, and b) the first sentence didn’t grab me and I realise half way through the third chapter that … meh and I close it.

2. Name a book or books you’ve abandoned in the past that you ended up loving later on.
I did a post of my own about this once as “The Great Gatsby” was exactly this, however another great example is Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry. I had read A Fine Balance a month or so before trying FM out the first time, I just couldn’t get into it. I laid it aside and stumbled over it one night on the way to the bathroom about a year later. I read it in two sittings. I love that book.

3. Name a book you’ve abandoned in the past that you hope to finish someday.

Ah! I can’t have any answer except: Timeline. It’s been such a long time since I tried to get through it the first time, (8 years), and a good friend gave it to me all excited because he was so sure I’d love it. It’s my Everest…. even though I’m pretty sure I’ll never love it, I may respect it. Probably not though… this guy didn’t.


Have you ever read a book so bad it makes you re-evaluate how you felt about the author’s previous books?


damnation.

3 comments

  1. Mrs. B.

    I didn't realize you've done this before. I'll check your archives. Thanks for doing the meme. The Great Gatsby was a book I also abandoned years ago and finally finished last year. I liked it but not as much as his other novel, Tender is the Night, which I absolutely love. Timeline is a book I would never pick up. You shouldn't feel like you have to finish it 🙂

  2. Mrs. B.

    P.S. Robinton Mistry is an author I've been meaning to read. I finally have A Fine Balance on my Kindle. Haven't tried it yet though. Now I wonder if I should just start with Family Matters.

  3. jfeldt

    thanks 🙂 I'm going to have to check out Tender is the Night now… so many books lol.I would stick with A Fine Ballance for the first Mistry book. It is an epic tale that drags you in. Family matters is a bit sadder in the tone, for the whole novel, but still beautifull.

Leave a Reply

