ad·ap·ta·tion n.

play_w2(“A0078200”)

“What book-to-movie adaption have you most liked?  Which have you disliked?”
 
Adaptation:
a. Something, such as a device or mechanism, that is changed or changes so as to become suitable to a new or special application or situation.
b. A composition that has been recast into a new form: The play is an adaptation of a short novel.
 
 
Okay so this question is close to my heart, and I have millions of examples and opinions. Today I think I will stick to the most extreme version(s).
The Black Stallion: Probably the most murdered book v movie “adaptation” in my mind is Walter Farley’s beloved book. I am going to try really hard to not go through the discrepancies one by one and rail about the injustice of it all; but I will point out some of the major bones of contention.
 
  • Alec’s age: In the book series Alec is in his teens, 14 or 15. In the movie Alec seems to be around 11-12. This may not seem to be a huge difference, but instead of giving you all the reasons why I think it’s a stupid change I will simply ask “why” did they have to make that difference? What did it contribute to the movie that the real age of Alec could not?
  • Mr. Ramsey: In the book, (indeed the whole series), he is a hard working family man who is integral in supporting his son’s love of Black. In the movie, a wandering gambler who is irresponsible and gets killed in the ship wreak.
  • The Ship wreak: In the book, Alec is alone on the boat and is travelling back from Arabia where he had been visiting his uncle. In the movie, a young Alec and his father are coming home.
  • Alec’s hair: Book – Red, Movie – Black…Why?
  • The horse statue……. I can’t even go into it.
SO I hate the movie because of the book. The film on it’s own merits is beautiful, I will never forget the way the director played with light… it was stunning. And Mickey Rooney was the best choice anyone could have ever made in casting Henry Daily.
My favorite, or best adaptation of book to movie would be Watership Down. The movie sticks to the script well, they don’t make any rabbits older or younger than they are supposed to be, and to tell the truth, I wasn’t as emotionally invested into the book so it wasn’t so hard to watch on screen. (The second time around.) Also there’s only one song. Some honorable and not so honorable mentions are:
Good adaptations: Lord of the Rings, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Any Jane Austen Film…(Except the last Americanized Pride and Prejudice.) and even though it left out quite a lot of the sciency stuff I still LOVE The Secret of Nihm.
Bad, Terrible, and Anger-Inducing Adaptations: The Golden Compass, Simon Birch, The League of Extraordinary Gentleman, and now for my largest and most hated adaptation of anything ever done in history………..EVER……….The Sword Of Truth Series. That is the only time I will ever speak of it. It hurts far too much.
Besides these opinions I have one more I would like to share. Read the series by Walter Farley, read The Black Stallion. They are fantastic, easy to read, and beautiful escapism. My favorites are when Alec is on the Island and he meets Flame… These books won’t disappoint, and they are magic.
Have a great weekend Book Bloggers, thanks for hopping by.
Moi xoxo
5 comments

  1. Howard Sherman

    Let’s kick off Memorial Day Weekend with some scandal and controversy. I absolutely loved every minute of the Lord of the Rings films and felt they hit the mark when they brought Tolkien’s masterpiece to the big screen.(ducking as rotten tomatoes are thrown at me as the torches are lit and the pitchforks raised) Wait, wait. I can explain! Hop on over to my blog and hear me out – http://www.howardsherman.net Howard A. Sherman, Implementorhttp://www.howardsherman.net

  2. blookbog

    Wow, I definitely can see the passion in this post. I haven't read the book and I haven't seen the movie. I'm wondering if I would love the movie since I haven't read it?Gone with the Wind is my favorite movie, although not-so-favorite book.~Jenniblookbog.wordpress.com

  3. Susan

    LOL – Guess you feel strongly about this issue, huh? I haven't seen most of the movies you mentioned, but NIMH was a good one.Glad to have found you via the Hop!

  4. Elizabeth

    Stopping by from the blog hop.Stop by my blog if you like…I usually prefer books to the movie version.Elizabethhttp://silversolara.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

