Cookies and Communication

     Fern could use some communication skills. Sure it’s a kid’s storey, (Charlotte’s Web), but really crying and screaming doesn’t get you a baby pig in real life. Believe me, I’ve tried, all it ever got me was – “Jessica, we can do this the fun way, or the not so fun way.” I once took a communication course, I had to, it was part of a larger academic thing I was once shooting for. I tried to incorporate the lessons I learned into every day conversations…. Sort of like
When you do/act (like a total moron)
This causes me to feel (like you are a total moron)
It is my intention to (not hang around a moron)

Therefore I intend to do/act (walk away and tell myself, you are a moron)
Oh whatever. No one cool talks like that.
    
     I just watched Suck last night. Best B movie I’ve seen in ages. Thanks T-dog for the b-day geek stick! (I dare anyone to translate that!)Also last night and this morning were spent in a cooking/baking frenzy trying to get ready for the may-long camp trip. [Not really frenzy, actually it was more zen, but frenzy made it sound more important.] This here is my super awesome recipe for what were formerly known as “camp cookies”, “mookies”, or “cuffins”. I have now re-named them “North Island Breakfast Cookies” They rock and roll. just like Henry Rollins. Huh, maybe I’ll call them Henry Rollins Cookies… Oh Henries? We’ll see. Any way they make perfect breakfast munchies while sitting around a camp fire in the cold morning while cradling a cup of coffee and Baileys.
North Island Breakfast Cookie
  • 1 1/2 C Flour
  • 3/4 C Sugar
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 Egg, slightly beaten.
  • 1/2 C Oil
  • 1/4 C Milk
  • 1 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 C Shredded Zucchini
  • 1/4 C Chocolate Chips
  • 1/4 C Raisins
  • 1/8 C Sunflower Seeds
  • 1/8 C Pumpkin Seeds
  1. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl except the Chocolate Chips, Seeds, or Raisins.
  2. Combine the wet ingredients in a separate bowl except the zucchini.
  3. Mix the wet into the dry until well Incorporated. Add the Chocolate Chips, Seeds, Raisins, and Zucchini. Do not mix more than necessary. The mixture should be fairly skookum, like a thick muffin recipe..[It sort of is a muffin recipe rebooted.]
  4. Pre-heat your oven to 350°
  5. Scoop mixture with an ice cream scoop, spacing them far apart on a cookie sheet. (On a standard sized cookie sheet I place four mounds well apart from each other or the sides of the sheet.)
  6. Bake for 15-25 min, watch carefully, turn your cookie sheet once in the baking cycle to ensure even baking. When a tester comes out clean they are done.
If you make 12 Cookies they will be 7 Weight watchers points each.
Leave a Reply

