Victory Fries

So blogger is being exceedingly frustrating. Deleting posts, restoring them in the wrong order, causing my dashboard to be inaccessible. Those types of things. In the event this post is taken down I will be expected to believe it is mere coincidence and not a spiteful act. But I digress…. (Did I? Was that actually a digression.)

di·gress/dīˈgres/
Verb: Leave the main subject temporarily in speech or writing. 
 
Well then, I was aiming at one subject and did temporarily divert pre topic so I suppose I pre digressed… However only I knew that was a digression… I should just delete all this and start over, but what fun would that be?!
 
Hello,
I am reading 1984 by George Orwell. I quite enjoy many sentences and descriptions so far. I’m only on page 58 of 251 but that’s like 23%. “For the future. For the unborn.” I liked that one so much I put it down in my quotes in Goodreads already. Usually I wait until I’m finished one of the books before adding just one quote from the book. I broke the rules. Ah well.
Something from this book which has sort of punched me in the gut is all the “Victory” stuff. “Victory Gin”, “Victory Cigarettes”, “Victory Coffee”. I can’t actually believe that Ignorance is Strength, but maybe it is according to America.
I will never forget visiting a Burger King in Boston in 2003. I had been living in Birmingham England, and I was on a trip with a group of friends. We travelled to Boston, Albany, and Buffalo. In the Burger King, fresh off the airplane from London, we ordered up some Burgers and Fries… Freedom Fries. I asked the skinny youth behind the counter what the hell happened to the “French” fries, and I got a parroted version on how awesome the USA was and how horrible the French were. This kid could hardly have been 16, could hardly have been politically inclined, and was totally propaganda’d. I mean brainwash yo. Like, dude!
Okay, so you have a beef with the French; first off that’s hardly unique. Secondly, I can’t believe that the general population would be so stupid as to not remember a classic book that talked about the villainy of the future, propaganda, censorship, and, and –  oh whatever. Ignorance is Strength alright.



…Or it could just be an American thing. After the President of France, Jacques Chirac, openly condemned America going to war with Iraq in 2003, the cafeterias in the House of Representatives renamed french fries and french toast “freedom fries” and “freedom toast”.

Taken from http://brainz.org/15-ridiculous-yet-politically-correct-moments/.

 



 
Leave a Reply

