Food For Thought

Taken from “The Inn at the Crossroads” blog.

    
     After getting over the initial shock that “A Dance With Dragons” is finished, and about to hit the shelves around July, I started to peruse George R. R.’s website. I remembered he had a funny “notablog” so I stopped off there first, and followed a link he posted to an absolutely kick ass blog here. These ladies are actually making recipes and cooking the dishes they find in A Song of Ice and Fire series! Amazing, wonderful, exciting.
     There are several recipes I want to try out, not the lease of which “Winter Cakes”, but I was suddenly reminded of finding a recipe for “Spice Soup” which is featured in Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth series. I have looked and looked but it seems Mr. Goodkind has written a new book, also expected in July 2011 so his old site is down. However, I have a copy of the recipe and I have made it often, I love it.

………………………………………………………………………
SPICE SOUP

First, lightly brown some hot peppers in oil. (The little dried red peppers, often used in oriental cooking.) Be careful not to cook them too long, or the soup will be really spicy. After they’re browned, take them out. Be sure to get all the seeds, too. I like to break up the peppers and put them in a vertical handled strainer and then lower that into the hot oil. After they brown this makes it easy to take them out. (You could also cook the peppers in a small pan and then pour the oil into a big soup pot through a small strainer, if it’s easier for you.) (All the following ingredients should be cut up into bite size pieces.) Sauté 2 onions, and then mushrooms (about equal to the onions) in the oil.

After the onions and mushrooms are sautéed, add the following:

4 or 5 potatoes
3 carrots
celery
1 small zucchini
1 package frozen corn (or 1 can)
1/2 head of cabbage
2-15 oz cans of tomatoes (or 1 large one)
chicken soup base
dry parsley, crushed

fill the pot with water so that it generously covers everything. After bringing it to a boil, cover and let it simmer until the vegetables are all cooked. It takes some time for the potatoes to cook. Add water as it evaporates. I like to let the soup simmer all day. It not only makes the house smell wonderful, but it gets better the longer it cooks. With chunks of fresh bread, it makes a hearty meal, especially on a cold day sitting by a crackling fire. Enjoy. All best wishes.

Whole recipe is roughly 30 weight watcher’s points depending on how true you stay to the ingredients. Substitute out the canned corn for fresh, and use less tomato and potato to decrease the points value substantionly.

     One of the great things about Spice Soup is that it is so easily adaptable, and mould able to whatever you have left over in your fridge, try it out an let me know what you think. I’m going to make mine with hot peppers, fancy mushrooms, and some venison from last season tonight.
     I love food. See my “about me” section on my eating habits. I absolutely love reading about food. I believe this is why A Song Of Ice and Fire is so irresistible to me. I can’t read it without stuffing my face with something, anything. It seems the book is constantly filled with descriptions of food. Gah! Weight Watchers Canada loves me, I am sending all their collective children to college with the amount money I am forced to spend on them to stay below a size XXXXXL.  
     I know that I’ve read other books with amazing descriptions of food, but it always seems to me that the fantasy genre just goes the extra mile. I have read about honeyed cakes and an array of wines in The Farseer Trilogy; Ales, stews, and breads in The Wheel of Time series; and porridge, lots and lots of porridge in the Malorean…poor Silk.
     Does anyone have any favorite foody passages in a book? I challenge you to bring a non-fantasy one! I would love to hear from any of you.
     Have a fantastic day! Happy Calories 🙂
Moi xoxo
Leave a Reply

