Teaching myself to read.

Remember when I told you I wasn’t going to write about lists of books not pertaining to NYR 2011? Well I just got back from reading “Ten Important Things I’ve Learned About Blogging” by The Pioneer Woman and I’m taking number 5 to heart.

These books taught me to read. Each one has eternally affected the way I view the world, or viewed the world at that time. Yes some of the ‘books’ are entire series’ and you’ll just have to deal with it, one is also a poem. I found it physically painful to try and separate one out of the pack in some cases, but I tried hard. I should also mention that these books were read between the ages of 0-18 and if I’m a warped adult it’s my mother’s fault for encouraging a young woman to read often. These are not all but some, and they are the most important; enjoy ~

  • The Tale of Peter Rabbit – Beatrix Potter : The entire collection of books that came in the box still belong to me. I love all the illustrations to this day. My “one day I’ll get a literary tattoo” idea will most likely be some picture from BP. Peter Rabbit was the one I read the most often, but Squirrel Nutkin was my favorite.
  • All Creatures Great and Small – James Harriot : Once again, I voraciously read everything by Mr. Harriot. I was going to be a vet because of his writing, then I found a dying bird and failed to save it; so I quit.
  • Hot Money – Dick Francis : My mother owns every single DF book in existence. She gave this one to me when I was old enough to read them and I was so proud. I own that exact copy now. I am a second generation Trekkie and a second generation Dick Francis reader/owner of all books.
  • The Hardy Boys – Franklin W. Dixon : See above in regards to my mother and substitute my father for this one.
  • 8 Cousins – Louisa May Alcot : Forget Little Women, this one did it for me. I loved it, I re-read it often as a child. This is probably the first book I took to re-reading. I had a crush on Uncle Alec.
  • Both Sides of Time – Carolyn B Cooney : I wrote about it here sort of, near the end… oh just go see it.
  • The Boxcar Children – Gertrude C. Warner : I’m beginning to see why I had fantasies of becoming an orphan…
  • Pawn of Prophecy – David Eddings : Ah the introduction to fantasy novels! I thought the sun rose and set on this series; it was, like, the best thing ever! I tried re-reading in when I was 17 and put it down in mortification.
  • The Paper Bag Princess – Robert Munsch : I was recently in the Calgary Airport and I saw “A collection of Robert Munsch stories Volume 1 and 2”. I bought them.
  • Pigs – Robert Munsch : Upon re-reading they are still, like, the best thing ever.
  • I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud – Wordsworth : To be brutally honest, I didn’t often read this, I listened to my mother read it. We used to go to a beach where there were hundreds of daffodils and she would read this out loud to us. It was as amazing as it sounds.
  • Faith of the Fallen- Terry Goodkind : The Sword of Truth series is outstanding. I loved every word of it, but this one book has shaped me. I will most likely write a review of it at some point, but what I will leave you with today is the lesson it taught me “Your life is yours alone, rise up and live it” in the book it was directly related to making your world better because you want to live in a better world. Don’t wait for someone else to make it better, be the change you want to see blah blah mushy mushy- Truth.
  • The Long Road Home – Danielle Steel : I was 15 and gone for the summer, I was a rebel reading Danielle Steel.
  • To Kill a Mocking Bird – Harper Lee
  • Hucklberry Finn – Mark Twain : I detest inequality due to these two literary giants. Where do we learn to hate injustice with such vehemence without a little guidance? One would hope it is ingrained, but then where does ignorance come from? ah-
  • The Black Stallion – Walter Farley : I was a girl who loved horses. Am, am a girl who loves horses.
  • Corrie Ten Boom: The Watchmakers Daughter – Jean Watson : Forgive
Well that seems enough for now, also I feel better finally getting those down on paper. Have a stupendous weekend!! Oh, crap, now I want to tell you that stupendous is one of my all time favorite words. Now I want to make up a list of those words… like fork hehe. Later gaiters
Moi xox
One comment

  1. Pingback: What ONE Book Did it for You? « Progress and Procrastination

Leave a Reply

